Return on Investment or simply ROI is the calculation of the profit earned on investment. The formula to calculate ROI is as follows −
To understand the ROI from Mobile Marketing, let’s assume −
Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)
CLV = Avg. Revenue per customer × Avg. No. of visits
Say, $100 per customer × 10 visits = $1,000
Calculate allowable Cost of Customer Acquisition (COCA) as −
COCA = CLV × (% allocated to new customer)
Say, $1000 × 10% = $100
Now, reallocate your mobile marketing budget by dividing them into ‘Branding’ and ‘Direct Response’. For example, allocate 20% of your budget to direct response −
Say, direct response budget = $200,000
20% of $200,000 = $40,000
Hence, mobile marketing budget is $40,000.
Now, calculate the number of estimated customers from new mobile marketing campaign.
CLV= $1,000
Budget= $200,000
COCA= $100
Customers acquisition = budget ÷ COCA
Hence, $200,000 ÷ 100 = 2,000
Therefore, new customers = 2,000
Direct response (of new customers) = 2,000
Mobile marketing new customers = 400
Conclusion − On 20% investment, you will gain 20% new customers.